A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas Book Review

This was originally written and posted on July 16, 2017.

I don’t even know where to begin. This first part won’t include any spoilers, so it will be more of an overview. I loved ACOWAR for so many reasons. ACOMAF focused very much on introducing characters and having us get to know and fall in love with them. This book, on the other hand, was much more about the battle. However, it was so interesting to see how the characters, like the Inner Circle, interact during battles and time of war. There were also many new (ish) characters that we had heard of, but got to see a lot more of in this book. There were so many emotional parts and really nerve-wracking scenes that made it such a good read. I highly recommend this series to anyone who has not read it yet. This was such an amazing way to end the series or at least Feyre’s point of view) and I can’t wait to read the rest of the books from this world.

I loved this book. There are no flaws in my eyes. As soon as I finished, I immediately started reading again because there was so much I wanted to reabsorb before trying to put how I felt in to words. There were so many moments that made me smile so much I had to stop reading or I would actually laugh aloud which rarely happens while reading. Something about how this book was written made it stand out so much from any of Sarah’s books. ACOMAF and ACOWAR are tied for my favorite because they are so different it’s too hard to try to pick one of the two.


(SPOILERS BEGIN NOW- DON’T READ IF YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED THE BOOK YET)

There is so much I wan’t to talk about! I loved reading about Feyre learning how to fly and being able to see more of Azriel’s personality. The scene where he tells Feyre Nephelle’s story was so beautiful. I love the Nephelle Philosophy (”our greatest weakness can sometimes be our biggest strength”) because I feel like that idea is so important, not just in the book but also in our real lives.

I was so happy to see that Lucien had a major role in this book. Seeing him meet the Inner Circle and learn the truth about the Night Court was amazing!!!!

The Suriel broke my heart. I wish we had actually learned what its name was. I already hated Ianthe but this moment in the book made me so excited to see her gone. I was so happy to learn that the Weaver ate her (or whatever the Weaver does). I didn’t realize how important the Suriel had been throughout the novels until I thought back on every time it had come up.

The way the relationship between Feyre and her sisters grew throughout the book was such a great part of the story. The moments after Elain was rescud were precious and it made me very happy to see the three of them together after so long.

The entire meeting between the High Lords was amazing and infuriating. Getting to meet all the High Lords and also see so many new territories was also amazing. The Inner Circle, especially Feyre and Azriel, were so badass and I loved watching the other Courts react to them. I hate Beron so much which made this scene even better. I feel very bad for his wife and I wished that we could have seen Eris get rid of him during this book.

When Feyre’s father showed up aboard the Nesta I think I may have teared up a little. He had been gone for so long that I thought he would never come back because I could not imagine how he would play any role in the story. Hearing how he had done this to make up for the years that he did nothing for his daughters made me smile. I hated that he died but it also made sense.

My heart stopped when Rhys died. I had to stop reading because I was too scared to see what came next. When he woke up I was ecstatic because I don’t know how I would have lived if he were gone. And Amren!!! I need to see a visual of what she actually is because the description was so vague. I wasn’t expecting her to come back at all and having her and Rhys all back in the same few paragraphs was just…..magical.

There is so much I want the rest of the novels to be about. I need to see more of Cassian and Nesta. I need to see what happens between Lucien and Elain. I need to see if Helion ever learns that Lucien is his son (or the other way around) and how that affects the Autumn Court. And so much about the Autumn Court. I really want Lucien’s mother to do something and learn what “the truth” that Eris hinted at is. I would really love to see a resolution to Tamlin’s story. I don’t forgive him for what he did, but he did slightly redeem himself during this book. I would also like to see where Jurian goes after the war. And we can’t forget about Mor!!! I was thrilled that Sarah included so much diversity all throughout the book and Mor coming out to Feyre was one of the best. I need Sarah to tell us what happens between Azriel and Mor and give both of them the happy ending they deserve.

There is just so much that was left open at the end of ACOWAR and I want to read about all of it. I don’t think I’m ever going to want to let go of this world.

I know I’ve left out so much and I’m going to keep remembering but I have to end this review before it turns into a page-by-page analysis. I love this book so much and writing all of this made me love it even more.

Please leave comments with your thoughts on ACOWAR or any book suggestions!! Thank for reading! 🙂

image

6 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas Book Review

  1. I love your review! You write really well and I totally agree with every word you’ve written. My only problem with the book was that the ending was a bit too perfect? It was such a big battle so I expected someone important to die, not that I want someone to die, but I think that makes the book more emotional. Really liked your review and am totally gonna be back for more! Would also love it if you could check out my blog as well, I write book reviews too!
    https://bookchantedblog.wordpress.com
    Great review, keep writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I definitely agree about the ending, I was expecting a lot more heartbreak. Although I kind of feel that the end of Throne of Glass (if you read it) might not be so perfect, so maybe SJM wanted to be a little nice with this one, hahah. I’ll totally check out your reviews and blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up – A Mess of a Reader

  3. Pingback: The Netflix Book Tag!! – A Mess of a Reader

Leave a comment