July Wrap Up

This is a little late but, like I said in my my last post, these first two weeks of August have been hectic.

The first book I read in July was A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas! I know, you’re probably thinking that I was very, very late on that- I was. The last few weeks on school I had to read about 4 different books and I knew that if I started to read ACOWAR I would not do any of my work so, I put off reading it. Then, throughout June and the first week of July, I was in summer school. I was just too busy, but I finally got to read it and I loved it!! I won’t talk too much because I did post a book review (which you can read here).

After reading ACOWAR, I was in a huuuge Sarah J. Maas mood so I reread The Assassin’s Blade– Empire of Storms (every book and novella currently out in the Throne of Glass series) and then I reread ACOTAR, ACOMAF, and ACOWAR. (Yes, I read ACOWAR again- I couldn’t just stop after ACOMAF. You can read my ACOMAF review here.) I don’t have any book reviews for ToG (not sure why), but, trust me, they are definitely worth reading. July was basically SJM month for me.

Image result for acotar series

Related image

Once I ran out of SJM books, I read Winters’ Snow by Carrie Hope Fletcher. This is a novella from Carrie’s previous book, On The Other Side. (I don’t have a review for this, but it’s such a wonderful and heartfelt story.) Because it is short I am planning on posting a small review on it when I review her new book, All That She Can See. I haven’t had time to read ATSCS yet. (I’ll explain why in a little.) None of Carrie’s books, except All I Know Now, are available in the U.S. but if you’re interested in reading them, I’ll explain how I got them in my review.

Image result

I reread Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. I found it at a small bookstore for only $3 so I bought it and decided to read it again. After I finished it I listened to The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. I got the audiobook through Overdrive (it’s a library app). I don’t really have a reason for why I decided to reread this, I just felt like more Sarah Dessen. It isn’t my first audiobook but it is the first time I’ve listened to an audiobook without the book in front of me. (In the past, I have always had both.) I used to really dislike audiobooks so I was pleasantly surprised that I found myself enjoying this one and actually finishing it. I didn’t post a review for either book because the day after I finished Just Listen, I went out of of town and after The Truth About Forever I really had to start my school work. I might post them, but, just in case I don’t, you should know they’re both great books. I love all of the characters and the plots never feel boring or slow. I can’t decide which of the two I like more- they’re both my top 2 Sarah Dessen books.

Image result

Image result

So I go back to school next week 😥 and one of my assignments is to read Blink by Malcolm Gladwell. I should have started it earlier but, oh well. I’m currently still reading it (and listening to the audiobook as I go.) I’ll post a review once I finish it, but I am enjoying it so far. I usually don’t read nonfiction so it’s taking me longer than a novel would. Because I have to read this, I haven’t been able to read All That She Can See (and it’s killing me!).

Image result

So that concludes July’s wrap up!! My least favorite part about starting school is having less time to read, which is why I decided to post this wrap-up despite being so late. I will try to keep reading throughout the school year but I don’t think I’ll have another 12 book wrap up in a while.  Based on how August is going, I don’t even know if I’ll get to 2 books this month. I’ll try to keep reading as much as possible and to keep posting as well. If you’ve read any of these book, let me know what you think of them! I hope you enjoyed!!!! 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

  1. Ahh I love the idea of having an SJM month! I might have to do that myself. I’m glad you enjoyed ACOWAR – I keep seeing negative reviews, and it’s really worrying me. I still need to read ACOWAR and Empire of Storms! I think I’m going to read Empire of Storms this month 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: All That She Can See & Winters’ Snow by Carrie Hope Fletcher Book Reviews – A Mess of a Reader

Leave a comment