Happy Book Lovers Day!!! (And the Cake Book Tag)

book1

It’s Book Lovers Day – aka a great day for someone like me!!!! I’m going to use today as an excuse to read as much as I possibly can. To celebrate, I’m going to do the Cake Book Tag. No one tagged me but I saw Bookchanted do it and I thought it’d be fun.

book2

I don’t know if I’ve read many dark books, or I’m forgetting all of them. I think for this category I’ll have to go with Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. (This counts as dark, right?) If you haven’t read it, I can’t recommend it enough!! It’s such an amazing book that will keep you excited all the way though the end. I’d also recommend The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. I didn’t love it as much as Gone Girl but it’s definitely still worth a read.

Image result

Image result

book3

I have so many books I think I could list for this, but I’ll keep it short. First, I’m going to say The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. I recently reread this book and I fell in love all over again. A few of Sarah’s books, like Dreamland, include heavier topics, but the majority are perfect for a light read. I’d also recommend The DUFF by Kody Keplinger. When I first picked up this book, I didn’t have high hopes, but it’s become a favorite of mine. All of Sarah’s and Kody’s books are amazing so definitely check them out!

Image result

Image result for the duff kody keplinger

book4

Hmmmmm….This is also kind of hard. I’m going to go with Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I read this after I read Fangirl, which I loved, and I had heard so many good things about this novel. I was expecting to love it and I really didn’t. However, I have been wanting to reread because I have loved every Rainbow Rowell book except this one so I feel like I have to give it another chance.

Image result

book5

I’m going to say A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. This book isn’t my favorite by Sarah but this series as a whole is one the best I have ever read. ACOTAR starts off a little slow but the end is great and the second and third books are amazing. This is what I tell everyone when I start talking about this series. I recommend all of Sarah’s books- her characters are amazing and the worlds she builds are impossible to forget.

Image result

book6

There aren’t many books that I haven’t finished and I usually forget about the ones that I haven’t because it means I really didn’t like it. One book that I still want to finish but have never gotten around to is This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl, Lori Earl, and Wayne Earl. I got about half way and wasn’t able to finish. It’s non-fiction so it has nothing to with a boring plot but I don’t know why I just couldn’t finish. I definitely think that this book is better read in chunks and not all at once like with a normal novel (which is what I was trying to do). Although I haven’t finished it, I still think Esther’s story is worth reading.

Image result

book7Every book I recommended has amazing writing but the books that immediately come to mind when I see this category are The Sky Is Everywhere and I’ll Give You The Sun both by Jandy Nelson. I wanted to pick these as the books I would recommend to anyone but I think this category fits slightly better. Jandy’s writing is simply breathtaking. Her characters are all so full of life and, although it’s been years, I am still not over these books. I wish she had more books to read because I know they would be just as amazing. (I think there are some rumors of a new book coming out this year!! I hope they’re true.) I could talk about these books forever but I’ll stop here. If you haven’t read these, please, please, please pick up a copy. (P.S. I’ve posted book reviews for both of these.)

Image result for the sky is everywhere new cover

Image result for i'll give you the sun

I tag anyone who feels like doing this! It was tons of fun to think back on some of my favorite books. If you use the art, make sure to keep in the artist’s credits in them. Thank you so much for reading and I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of these books. 🙂

One thought on “Happy Book Lovers Day!!! (And the Cake Book Tag)

  1. ACOTAR FOR THE WIN!!!!!!!! I ended up choosing The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson for cheesecake since its utter awesomeness was so fresh in my mind but I came THIS. CLOSE. to picking ACOTAR (because ACOMAF!!!!!). Also, I really enjoyed The Duff too, though I hadn’t been expecting to. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment